Beet & Candied Pecan Salad

J – I actually really like beets – Ines thinks they taste like dirt – so while she was away on vacation, I got to make a nice beet salad to go with the roast chicken I made earlier. This salad is really, really simple:

  • 2 1/2 – 3 1/2 medium sized beets, boiled and sliced thin
  • ~1/4 to 1/2 cup chopped pecans or walnuts
  • 10 oz lettuce or mixed greens, chopped
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup
  • Goat cheese
  • Olive oil
  • Balsamic vinegar
  • Lemon/lime juice

Skin and clean the beets, then boil until tender and slice then. While the beets are boiling, toast the pecans in a pan on medium-low heat, then add the maple syrup. Immediately turn off heat and turn pecans until coated.

Beet_Salad_1

To make the dressing, I mixed 3 parts olive oil with 1 part balsamic vinegar, then added about 1/2 the juice of 1/2 a lemon (so…the juice of a quarter lemon…). Chop up the lettuce or simply add 1 10-oz bag of mixed greens to a bowl, then add the beets, pecans, goat cheese, and dressing. Mix and serve!

Beet_Salad_2

One thought on “Beet & Candied Pecan Salad

  1. I had the beet and goat cheese salad at Cheese Cake Factory in Towson and it was so delicious I decided to make my own. I hate the trouble of boiling the beets, and since I have no idea how to cook them (never seen beets in Taiwan), so I just used the canned beets and it tasted just as good as the restaurant. I mixed it with green mix and put some goat cheese on it. It was absolutely fantastic. Oh, I used the dressing marked “Girard’s” (Greek Feta flavor).

Leave a Reply

