Very Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

J – Ok, I’m just gonna say it: I don’t like crispy chocolate chip cookies. If they’re crumbly, I don’t want ’em. When I was in High School, we used to have these (admittedly disgusting) Otis Spunkmeyer (real name…I know) cookies. Their only saving grace was that they were really chewy in the center. Well, Alton Brown has a recipe to make cookies that are not only delicious but chewy to boot. The trick is brown sugar and bread flour, and lots of it. Here’s the link to his recipe, but I’ve reproduced it here with my images and notes as well.

Just a note – this is the first recipe I followed where the ingredients were by weight/volume instead of all volume, and I’m never going back. If you’re not using your kitchen scale religiously, you’re missing out.

Ingredients:

  • 8 oz unsalted butter – I prefer salted butter, actually – I think the salt helps cut the sweet of these cookies very nicely.
  • 12 oz bread flour sifted together with:
  • 1 tsp salt and
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 oz white sugar
  • 8 oz brown sugar
  • 1 egg + 1 egg yolk
  • 1 oz milk (calls for whole, I’ve used skim with great success)
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 12 oz semisweet chocolate chips here – as always, I’ve noticed that high-quality chocolate chips taste WAY better than low-quality ones.

Melt the butter, then beat together with white and brown sugar until it looks like this. You want to use a large enough bowl to accommodate all of your ingredients, ultimately. A stand mixer will probably save you a lot of forearm soreness:

ChewyCookies_1Then, mix your wet ingredients (egg + egg yolk, milk, and extract) and add to the egg mixture slowly while mixing. Finally, add your dry ingredients to your mixing bowl slowly while mixing. The dough will become very bread-like and delicious. Add in your chocolate chips and mix further, then pop the dough in the fridge for ~1 hour:

IMG_7014Scoop approximately 1 heaping tbsp spheres onto a cookie sheet and bake for 7-12 minutes in a 375 F oven. These cookies will bake fast and you do not want to burn them. Keep an eye on them! Trust me, they bake faster than you think. When all is said and done, plot your cookies on a cooling rack, let cool, and try to eat fewer than 4 per day.

IMG_7015

Leave a Reply

