Recipes week 6

I – Sorry readers (is anyone out there?), it’s been a while since we wrote about our cooking. But no worries, we’ve been cooking all along. The reason for the silence is that I’ve been wanting to post about a Portuguese dish that I made recently, and it will take a while to write up, so I’ve been procrastinating. As with all procrastination, my solution is do something else (as opposed to doing nothing) and somehow I’ll find myself doing the thing I didn’t want to do in the first place. So I’m gonna post about all the other recipes we’ve done, and maybe I’ll get to the big one…

So, from the last batch of groceries that we posted, we had rockfish (also known as stripped bass). I like fish cooked very simply: lemon juice plus salt & pepper, and then, either grill it and pour some olive oil on top, or fried in a bit of butter. This time, I went the butter route. After pan frying the fish, I removed it from the pan, and added a bit of lemon juice and white wine to the butter, and it made for a great sauce.

To go with it I made delicious mashed potatoes with goat cheese and caramelized onion (recipe here), and brussels sprouts. Now, neither of us is a big fan of brussels sprouts. They always taste bitter to me (apparently, some people cannot taste this bitterness), but I wanted to give them a chance (since we got a pound of it, anyway…). So I found a brussels sprouts recipe for people that don’t like them. Apparently, the trick is to not overcook them and then add plenty of garlic and parmesan cheese. I can happily report that they did really taste good to me. Jeff didn’t seem so convinced, but hey, it was worth the shot…

We also had ground pork and the following week we received some cabbage, so Jeff went to work and made pork dumplings. They are really good, but it did take him a whole afternoon and he seemed a bit distressed by the end (as in “I’ll never do this again”). I’ll let him tell you about it himself.

 

 

Leave a Reply

